Meet Matt Lynch, RI Philharmonic Music School Faculty

Matthew LynchWhat is your favorite part about teaching at the RI Philharmonic Music School?

“My favorite part of teaching at the RI Philharmonic Music School is seeing students gain confidence in their abilities and musical instincts. I love being surprised by their musical decisions. I teach music production, and in many ways I view electronic music as the folk music of the 21st century; it’s accessible, there’s so much room for experimentation and expression, and there are as many genres as cities in the world. Making electronic music requires not just musicianship and facility on an instrument (or with software), but the technical understanding and discipline to approach the hundreds, sometimes thousands of decisions made in each song. Nothing’s better than helping a student lay that foundation, and then watching them create something totally unique in a way I wouldn’t have thought of. I learn as much from them as they do from me.”

