Meet Amelia Nixon, RI Philharmonic Music School Community Partnerships Manager

Amelia Nixon HeadshotWhat is your favorite experience from the past year?

“This having been my first year as the coordinator of Link Up, I was not prepared for my emotional response to a concert hall full of students lifting their voices and joining the orchestra in singing and playing some of classical music’s finest repertoire. Hearing the beauty of these young peoples’ musicianship, and seeing the joy and awe on the faces of over 12,000 students, was one of the highlights of my professional career. I am impressed and moved by the depth of dedication of our participating teachers, ensuring that all students are prepared and engaged, and have a wonderful educational experience.

Link Up is also a fantastic example of 21st century music education — with a common-core aligned program, all stakeholders can be confident that English language arts, math and music learning standards are being taught in the music classroom and the concert hall using a high-quality and flexible curriculum.

I am immensely proud of the hard work that was showcased by these students and teachers, and I am honored to be a part of such a powerful music-making experience.”

