RI Philharmonic Music School Chamber Quartet Performs at the RI State House

Hi, my name is Elizabeth and I’m a student at the RI Philharmonic Music School where I play the violin in the Symphony Orchestra. After attending a week long chamber music camp at the School, I was asked to play in a quartet with three other Music School students: Lucy, Isaiah and Emeline. Our goal was to provide an hour and a half of continuous background music for the 2017 National Governors Association Summer Meeting on Friday, July 14th.

The meeting was held at the Rhode Island State House. In attendance were more than 30 governors, leaders from Canada and Mexico, and special guests Vice President Mike Pence and the Prime Minister of Canada, Justin Trudeau! I was very excited, a little nervous and honored that they would be listening to us. I was hoping to catch a glimpse of the Vice President and the Prime Minister!

Prior to our performance, we had to prepare music and rehearse. After much hard work and practice, we came together at the State House. There was a helicopter circling above with cameras, roads around the Statehouse were closed off. It was strange to walk around the grounds with hardly anyone in sight.

Once we were inside the building we set up, I enjoyed looking at the elaborate decoration. The acoustics were great and it was really fun to play in such a big space! We played a variety of music of early music (Rameau and Lully), baroque (Handel, Corelli and Bach), classical (Haydn and Mozart), and romantic (Schubert), among others. The selections were really beautiful to play and the audience was really enthusiastic. Some Governors even came up to us clapping and wanted to talk with us. 

We all played very well and had a great time. I knew this was a once in a lifetime experience. I still cannot believe I was really there!

Thank you RI Philharmonic Music School for this wonderful opportunity!

